For many of us we save the words “I Love You” for those closest and most dear to our heart.  They are words with tremendous meaning and are often saved for very special moments that are few and far in between; especially those that are very shy with emotions, take extra care around those 8 letters. But why? Do you not want those that you do feel love towards to know, or are you ashamed?  That seems to be the case for most of everyone I know.  But I try not to let society pressure me into being ashamed of how I feel.

Just about every time I leave the house, I tell my dad that I love them.  My younger brother, Brayden, who is 9, comes up to me and tells me he loves me all the time.  He is really what inspired me to start reminding the people around me how much I appreciate them.  When I leave for a long trip, when I hang up the phone, basically any time it pops into my head.  But it isn’t just my closest relatives.  It’s friends that I haven’t seen in a long time, or good friends when we’re hanging out.  But I  would like to extend that out even further.  To strangers that randomly will help me when I ask where the bathroom is, aquaintances that will make friendly conversation with me while I check out, or even just people that I go play Pokémon Go with that will let me know if a dratini is nearby.  I genuinely feel a love for people around me.  The world would be a much better place if we all reminded each other that we truly care.

So here is my challenge to you. Give your love freely. Relatives, friends, strangers. Without expecting anything in return. You never really know who is going through a hard time and who really needs it.  You will be a better person for it, and in turn make the world a better place.

I love you, and I mean it.

 

